Search Our Site

We have 3,777,475 registered online learners.
166 new learners so far today.

The Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards

schedule 12th January 2018 by Hannah Gorton in Safeguarding Last updated on 16th January 2019

Man crying during therapy

The Mental Capacity Act (MCA) gained Royal assent in 2005 and has been fully in force since 2007. Applying to England and Wales, this piece of legislation protects and empowers people who are unable, or may become unable, to make some or all decisions about their care or treatment. In 2009, amendments were made to the MCA to include the Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards (or DoLS), but what are they for?

What are the DoLS?

People who lack the mental capacity to consent to essential care or treatment may need to be placed in a care home or hospital to receive the care or treatment they need, however, a lack of mental capacity must be established before this can happen. This may be if it is felt the risk is too high if you stay where you are and all other alternatives have been explored to assist you to stay there. If this is not possible, the DoLS protect the rights of these individuals when they are detained in a care home or hospital.

Why were the DoLS introduced?

The DoLS came into force in England and Wales in April 2009 under amendments to the MCA. This was because people lacking the mental capacity to express their wishes could be detained in a care home or hospital for their own health and safety, however, this could lead to a breach of their human rights – such as what happened in the 1997 ‘Bournewood case’. In 2005, the European Court of Human Rights (ECHR) decided that, based on the ‘Bournewood case’, the common law doctrine of necessity did not have sufficient safeguards in place to protect people who lacked the mental capacity to consent to care or treatment and who needed limits put on their liberty to keep them safe from harm.

What age does a person have to be to be eligible for the DoLS?

The MCA primarily applies to people aged 16 and over, however, the DoLS only apply to people over the age of 18.

Apart from age, there are five other criteria that need to be assessed before DoLS can be authorised, such as:

  1. No refusals (whether there are any conflicts with existing decisions)
  2. Mental capacity
  3. Mental health
  4. Eligibility
  5. Best interests

How long do the DoLS remain in place?

Assessments must be completed within 21 days or before urgent authorisation expires. If a DoLS authorisation is granted, it must state how long it lasts – this can be up to a maximum of 12 months and any conditions must be attached. After the authorised period is over, a new assessment procedure must be repeated to apply for a new DoLS authorisation.

For an overview of the MCA and a more in-depth look at the DoLS amendment, Virtual College offer a Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards (DoLS) course.

Related resources

Hannah Gorton Author

Author: Hannah Gorton

Hannah is a content writer for the marketing team at Virtual College. She has a degree in English literature and writes articles and blog posts for a range of topics within the learning industry. In her spare time she enjoys reading, knitting and gaming.

ISO 9001:2015
Crown Commercial Service Supplier
LPI Accredited Learning Technologies Provider


+44 (0)1943 605 976

Virtual College

Marsel House


West Yorkshire

LS29 8DD

Awards for footer
Gold and silver award winners at the Learning Technologies Awards 2017 - including gold for excellence in the design of learning content.


We are in the process of moving to one Virtual College website. If you want to go back to a course, or start a course, bought from our old website then you may need to login to our original learning management system. Otherwise, please proceed to our new learning management system to return to your training.


You are already logged in. Click the button below to be taken to your LMS dashboard. Alternatively, click logout to leave the system.