Online Courses FAQs

Choosing the right course or knowing which one best suits your requirements can be difficult, here we answer the most commonly asked questions about popular topics to help.

HACCP Definition

HACCP stands for hazard analysis and critical control points, there are many other parts of key information you need to be aware of, discover more with our FAQs.

  • How many HACCP prerequisites are there?

    There are 12 good hygiene practices (GHPs) and practical attributes which make up the prerequisites before applying a HACCP plan, which include:

    • a fit-for-purpose premises or structure with all necessary facilities
    • fully functioning equipment
    • technical maintenance and calibration
    • adequate cleaning and sanitation
    • physical separation of activities to prevent biological cross-contamination
    • procedures to control and prevent other forms of contamination within production
    • supplier controls
    • safety of water and ice
    • proper waste management
    • pest control
    • appropriate levels of personal hygiene and health of all personnel
    • comprehensive training
    • supervision measures

  • Is HACCP a food safety management system?

    No, HACCP is a set of principles that can be used in the development of an adequate Food Safety Management System, but is not a Food Safety Management System itself.

  • What are critical control points for food safety?

    Critical Control Points (CCPs) for food safety are defined as a stage at which a control measure can be applied in order to prevent or reduce the risk of introducing of a food safety hazard or risk. These vary from business to business, so you will need to create a flowchart for your business’ specific production actions to understand where these CCPs will be. This can include steps such as preparing raw meat, cooking ingredients, and defrosting food.

  • What are critical limits in a food safety plan?

    Critical limits can be defined as the maximum safe limit that can be reached at a Critical Control Point (CCP) of whichever measurement is being taken for safety purposes, an example of which being the minimum and maximum temperatures that refrigerated food need to be stored at. If these critical limits were exceeded, it would signal an issue at that particular critical control point.

  • What are four types of food contamination?

    The four main types of food contamination are physical (foreign objects present in food), chemical (foreign chemical substances present in food), biological (living organisms, such as pests or microorganisms, present in food), and allergenic (unintended presence of allergens in food).

  • What does HACCP stand for?

    HACCP stands for ‘Hazard Analysis and Critical Control Points’.

  • What is the purpose of food safety plans programs?

    The purpose of a food safety plan program, such as the HACCP food safety management system, is to ensure businesses implement adequate food safety procedures which help protect both consumers and the businesses themselves by adhering to a set of safety principles.